Birchbox: June 2013 Review

Birchbox: June 201306.18.13 - Here we have it folks, my second Birchbox! Complete with the brand new logo! This time around I avoided any and all other reviews in anticipation of being surprised by what I’d find inside! And, let me just say… I was stoked! In so many ways, it’s like Birchbox read my mind and brought me exactly what I was hoping for!

For those who don’t know… Birchbox is a cosmetic subscription service that delivers makeup samples to your doorstep for $10.00 a month. Birchbox rewards subscribers with points for referring friends and for writing reviews on their site. These points can be used toward the purchase of your favorite products.

This month’s theme is “Wanderlust” and the whole idea that when you’re ready to shake things up, you can’t be stopped! That’s been especially true for me lately. I don’t know what it is, but I’ve had crazy motivation to get things done! So, it seems this month’s theme is fitting the bill!

This month’s Birchbox came with:

  • 29 Cosmetics | 29 Preserves Skin Care Collection
  • Birchbox + Color Club | Wanderlust Collection
  • Twistband | Birchbox Nautical Hair Tie Collection
  • Klorane | Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oak Milk
  • Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics | Hi-Definition Hydrating Mineral Perfecting Powder
  • Birchbox | Postcards
29 Cosmetics

29 Cosmetics | 29 Preserves Skin Care Collection

29 Cosmetics | 29 Preserves Skin Care Collection
Full Size Cost: $68.00-175.00
Sample Value: $4.00 (estimate)
Buy at Birchbox

29 Cosmetics offers an antioxidant-rich and eco-chic quartet to protect and firm skin. This month’s sample includes a Cream Cleanser, Serum Extract, Eye Emulsion and Night Moisture.

I don’t really have a wrinkle problem. I guess you could say I’m still young, though the gray hairs making an appearance on my head are quietly disagreeing. But, I still listed it on my beauty profile for Birchbox because I’ve always been of the mindset that it’s never too early to use anti-aging stuff! It can’t hurt right? I immediately used the Cream Cleanser and the Night Moisture, because I was getting ready for bed. I noticed in the morning that my skin felt super soft, and the Eye Emulsion was really great. But, the sample sizes are only big enough for one application, and it’s hard to tell with this anti-aging stuff what effect it has after one use.

29 Cosmetics seems like it’s got some cool things going on though. They’re based in Napa, California and make their products with all natural and organic, sustainable ingredients. Their products even come in eco-friendly, recyclable packaging, which I think is pretty cool!

Color Club & Twist

Birchbox + Color Club | Wanderlust Collection
Twistband | Birchbox Nautical Hair Tie Collection

Birchbox + Color Club | Wanderlust Collection
Full Size Cost: $8.00
Sample Value: $2.00
Buy at Birchbox

My nail polish was chipping, so I was totally ready to take off what I had on and try something summery! And boy, this stuff is bright! When I first saw the bottle it looked like a mint color to me. Which… I was thrilled about, because I’m loving the mint trend. But, I don’t know if it was the lighting or what, but the next morning I realized the polish is actually like a BRIGHT neon green. Which, if I had read the information card, I would have known. But alas, I wasn’t patient enough for that. It’s not really my style, but it’s something I could see myself putting on my toes later this summer.

The Wanderlust Collection comes in four different colors inspired by Birchbox’s favorite cities. I got “London Calling.” I’m not totally sure of the color connection, but I can roll with it.

Twistband | Birchbox Nautical Hair Tie Collection
Full Size Cost: $14.00
Sample Value: $2.33
Buy at Birchbox

The Twistband was this month’s lifestyle extra from Birchbox. I’ve seen these before in a whole bunch of different boxes. They even have their own monthly subscription service (here you go). As far as hair ties go, they’re pretty cool. They go on really smoothly and definitely helped me out when I washed may face with the 29 Cosmetics Cream Cleanser. But, here’s my thing about hair ties. I never buy them. I don’t know how I end up with them. But, I have like one or two around the house and they get me through. I’m just not a pony tail girl, so I don’t use them often.

Klorane

Klorane | Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oak Milk

Klorane | Gentle Dry Shampoo with Oak Milk
Full Size Cost: $18.00
Sample Value: $5.96
Buy at Birchbox

Now this is the type of product I hoped to get from Birchbox. I’ve always wanted to try a dry shampoo, but never took the plunge. This morning was the perfect opportunity for me to try it out. I’ve been using the leave-in conditioner from my last Birchbox (review here) and my hair has been looking greasy on day two, so I thought this dry shampoo would help me out.

Klorane is a favorite of celebs and is known for reviving second-day strands. And, I think it did the trick? I didn’t notice anything too outstanding. I think it helped out some, but I felt like I had to use a lot of it to get the effect I wanted.

Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics | Hi-Definition Hydrating Mineral Perfecting Powder

Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics | Hi-Definition Hydrating Mineral Perfecting Powder

Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics | Hi-Definition Hydrating Mineral Perfecting Powder
Full Size Cost: $40.00
Sample Value: $1.94
Buy at Birchbox

When I saw this product, I thought YES! Want to know why? It’s because my powder fell on the floor and shattered this week. Leaving me living a life sans powder. And that’s not a life I enjoy.

Now… Houston, we have powder! And, HD powder at that! I’ve used HD powder before, primarily for weddings and other special occasions, and I love the finish they leave. The sample size is pretty small though, and I was confused about how I could get a brush into the small container. But, after I got past that, I was impressed with how it kept shine under control for hours. As far as quality goes, this might be my favorite item in this month’s box.

Postcards

Birchbox | Postcards

Birchbox | Postcards
Full Size Value: $2.50 (estimate)
Not available online 

These cute post cards were a little extra item in this month’s box. They coincide with Birchbox’s Wanderlust Collection and feature some really cute illustrations. I have a picture frame that I’ve been meaning to put something inside, and I feel like this could be really cute in my bathroom… hmmm… Look at you Birchbox! Inspiring me to be crafty!

The Verdict
Cost: $10.00/month
Value: $18.73

As before, I am impressed with Birchbox’s value and ability to predict what sort of items I want to try. While I was happy to experiment with these brands, I didn’t really get anything that I felt like I couldn’t live with out. Don’t be fooled, I’m not disappointed. That’s the fun in trying different products. Can’t fall in love with everything every time!

My favorite item this month has to be the sample from Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics. Just because I’m a sucker for some shine-control HD powder. I just wish there was more in the sample size!

Does this all sound good to you? Are you ready to try Birchbox out? Do a girl a favor and use this link. Who else got Birchboxes this month? Are you feeling wanderlust?

Disclosure: This product was not received in exchange for a review. All views in this review
are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a
review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post
may contain referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Birchbox: June 2013 Review

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    Best Birchbox ever!

    - KW

    http://musthaveboxes.com

  2. I’m so jealous that you got the Kloraine dry shampoo! However, I can’t complain because I loved just about everything I got in my box this month!
    Also, just an FYI, I recently read on Pinterest that you can save a broken powder compact or eyeshadow or blush by mixing rubbing alcohol in with the broken pieces. It might be worth a try!
    Anyway, I like your blog!
    - Michelle

    http://beautifulgoodies.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

