Hey Midwest, Let’s Get Plated!

6.12.13 – Cooking is still kind of a new thing for me. I took over the kitchen from my husband a couple years ago when I wanted to start eating healthier meals (my husband thinks every meal needs to include frying). I basically learned to cook using a cool service called eMeals. It basically provides you with weekly grocery lists and recipes so that you use everything you buy at the store. If you haven’t tried it out, I highly recommend it!

Now, when I saw Plated on a fellow blogger’s subscription box page (check out her review here), I was IN LOVE. It works like this. First, you pick out which recipes you want to try from their menu each week. Then, Plated takes care of the shopping and ships you all the ingredients you need in pre-measured portions. It all shows up on your door step with step-by-step instructions on how to create your selected culinary masterpiece!

Currently, Plated is only shipping to select areas. So, I didn’t think I could try it out and was super bummed. But! They’re currently doing a beta test in the Midwest. I’m getting in on the fun, and you can too! If you want to receive two plates free and be in the Midwest Beta test, email me at justlouiseplease@gmail.com and I’ll hook you up with the information you need! Plated will officially launch in Chicago July 8.

The pricing works like this. You can either order a la carte, in which case the cost is $14-15/plate. If you sign up for a $10/month membership, you save some money per plate and it can cost you as little as $10/plate. You’ll need one plate per person.

Plated Menu

This week’s menu has a bunch of tasty-looking options, including:

  • Skirt Steak with Corn Salsa and Lime Potato Salad
  • Swordfish a la Siciliana with Grilled Flatbread
  • Pork Chops with Glazed Peaches
  • Hoisin Chicken Lettuce Wraps with Stir-fried Rice Noodles
  • Chicken and Chorizo Paella

We’ll be going with the Skirt Steak and the Chicken and Chorizo Paella. I’m excited to cook up these fancy recipes and I love that everything comes pre-measured and taken care of. I think this would be great for special occassions or if you’re hosting a dinner party and want to do something special.

Can’t wait for it to get here and try it out! It’ll definitely save me from buying food at the grocery store this week! Check that off my list!

Disclosure: This product was not received in exchange for a review. All views in this review
are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a
review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post
may contain referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Hey Midwest, Let’s Get Plated!

  1. Thank you so much for referring to my post :). I was thrilled to be able to pass on my experience with others. This was definitely one of my favorite boxes so far!

Leave a Reply

