Plated: June 2013 Review (Part 2)

Plated Instructions & Ingredients 2I was really pushing it with the whole idea that ingredients from Plated stay good for one week. I got my box on a Tuesday and didn’t cook the second meal until Monday. I went into it knowing that it was possible my chicken and/or produce wasn’t good any more. And sadly, I was right.

Plated is a food subscription service that delivers gourmet ingredients and recipes to your doorstep for up to $15.00/plate. Currently, Plated ships to a limited number of areas, but is trying out shipping to the midwest through a beta test. So, all this feedback is really good for them as they work out the kinks!

Plated pepper

Plated Pepper

So, one of my big ingredient problems was the pepper. Sadly, it didn’t make it. Alas… I went onward without it, and continued my quest to create Chicken and Chorizo Paella with what I had left.

This time around I wasn’t missing any of the ingredients. But, I was pretty concerned about the chicken still being good. But, I thought… what the hell? I’ll cook it and see how it goes.

Like before, the instructions were easy to follow and the timing of the meal was very simple. I did have some trouble getting the rice to cook fully. But, I kind of missed the note that I was supposed to start the rice and the veggies at the same time, so I ended up getting that extra cooking time I needed anyway.

Plated Finish 2

Plated Finish Product

So, now we’ve got the finished product. And, while the flavor of the rice and other ingredients was really quite delicious. I do feel like the lack of pepper was a bummer. Also… the chicken tasted funny. Which, I kind of expected and couldn’t eat. Chicken is something I just don’t mess with. If it smells/tastes funny, it’s going in the garbage.

Is this enough to make me swear off Plated? Nah. I know I pushed the boundaries of the ingredients’ expiration date. I’m going to give it another go and order from next week’s menu, because there are a lot of good recipes I want to try! But, this time… I’m going to do a better job of planning out my meals so I use them earlier in the week.

Want more on Plated? Visit their website here or read my other reviews here. Want to receive two plates free? Email me at justlouiseplease@gmail.com and I’ll hook you up with the information you need to be a part of the Midwest Beta test!

Disclosure: This product was received in exchange for a review as part of the Midwest Beta Test. All views in this post are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Plated: June 2013 Review (Part 2)

  1. Leah says:

    I ended up throwing away the pepper and chicken, saved the rice and spices and used the chorizo in breakfast tacos for Dan and I! I also felt like the chicken wasn’t good when I checked it on Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

