Hammock Pack: June 2013 Review

Hammock Pack June 2013When my world was introduced to subscription box services one of the very first ones I came across was Hammock Pack and I was immediately intrigued! And, it wasn’t just because I think their logo is super adorable! Every month, Hammock Pack brings much-needed getaways to your doorstep. Whether it’s a movie night or an exotic vacation, each surprise pack is filled with everything you need to relax and enjoy a little “me time” in the comfort of your home.

This month’s theme was a Lake House getaway. Which for me is perfect, because… hello! I practically live in a Lake House on beautiful Lake Michigan! I’m only a couple blocks from the beach and I’m seriously planning on taking everything inside this box and making a day of it!

In the June 2013 Hammock Pack I received:

  • The Good Bean | The Good Bean Sea Salt Flavor
  • Elemental Herbs | All Good Lips™ Tinted 
  • Big Tree Farms | Instant Coconut Water Original Flavor
  • Blum Naturals | Daily Cleansing & Makeup Remover Towelettes
  • Maria Semple | Where’d you go, Bernadette
The Good Bean | The Good Bean Sea Salt Flavor

The Good Bean | The Good Bean Sea Salt Flavor

The Good Bean | The Good Bean Sea Salt Flavor
Sample Value: $5.22
Full-Size Cost: $31.29 (6 pack)
Buy at The Good Bean

I love chickpea snacks! That crunchy and salty combination is always stellar in my book. And when I head to the beach, I love something to gnaw on while I’m laying under the sun. Just thinking about this makes me want to grab my umbrella and get down there.

The Good Bean says their snacks are 100% Goodness and 0% Badness. The good stuff consists of intense nutrition and flavor. They’re also gluten-free, nut-free, cholesterol-free and low-fat. Doesn’t get better than that! And I mean, really… when you’re eating and sporting a bathing suit, you don’t really want to be eating something that’s going to be counterproductive to that bikini bod.

Elemental Herbs | All Good Lips™ Tinted

Elemental Herbs |
All Good Lips™ Tinted

Elemental Herbs | All Good Lips™ Tinted
Full-Size Cost: $4.99
Buy at Elemental Herbs

When I head down to the beach, the only makeup I’m wearing is sunscreen and a lip gloss. So, to me this speaks true to the box’s theme this week! I was lucky and got the color I’d probably buy for myself. And, its subtle enough that if it wasn’t my color, I’d probably still be able to pull it off.

The “Barnabe Rose” color highlights natural lip tones and is made with SPF 18! There’s a hint of peppermint thanks to some organic essential oil.

Coco Hydro

Big Tree Farms | Instant Coconut Water Original Flavor

Big Tree Farms | Instant Coconut Water Original Flavor
Sample Value: $0.92
Full-Size Cost: $11.50
Shop at Big Tree Farms

There’s a lot of chatter about coconut water right now. And, I’ve given into the craze with my La Croix. But, this is a brand I’ve never tried before. I can see myself mixing this in a water bottle and enjoying it under the hot sun.

CocoHydro lets you enjoy dehydrated organic coconut water wherever you are. Big Tree Farms says drinking CocoHydro regularly helps keep both physical and mental muscles at peak performance. They say coconut water is the best thing to drink for hydration because it’s full of Calcium, Magnesium and Potassium.

Well damn. I guess I should have been drinking coconut water earlier. Guess I’m going to have to try this thing out for myself. When I’m at the beach, usually I like to have a cocktail. But, I guess you gotta stay hydrated too!

Blum Naturals | Daily Cleansing & Makeup Remover Towelettes

Blum Naturals | Daily Cleansing & Makeup Remover Towelettes


Blum Naturals | Daily Cleansing & Makeup Remover Towelettes

Full-Size Cost: $3.99
Buy at Amazon.com

Blum Naturals uses natural and organic botanicals in their wipes to make removing eye and face makeup easy. Their wipes are designed to keep skin looking and feeling smooth, refreshed and moisturized.

Ever since I got a sample of the COOLA Cucumber Moisturizer  in my May 2013 Birchbox, I’ve been all about that refreshing cucumber scent! When I saw these, I was immediately excited, pulled one out and tried it. The wipes are very large, sturdy and feel very high-quality. I didn’t experience an overwhelming scent of cucumber, but I still liked the wipes! The only down side is that there’s only 10 of them in this pack. And I usually use wipes like these every day. But, these guys are supposed to be available at many different retailers, so if I see them in the store, I’d be really tempted to make the purchase.

And with the Lake House getaway in mind… When I get home from the beach, these things will totally remove sunscreen and feel great on sun-kissed cheeks.

Maria Semple | Where'd you go, Bernadette

Maria Semple | Where’d you go, Bernadette

Maria Semple | Where’d you go, Bernadette
Full-Size Cost: $14.98

Shop at Hachette Book Group

Well hello beach-side reading! This book looks perfect for a lazy day in the sun. After all of these Lake House themed items, I am sooo itching to get down by the water this weekend.

I’m not up-to-date on the current must-read lists out there. But everyone from The New York Times to O, The Oprah Magazine is singing its praises. So, I’m certainly ready to give it a shot!

And… it’s paper back. Someone was thinking over at Hammock Pack! Paper backs are my book style of choice for beach reading. They’re just easier to maneuver!

The Verdict
Cost: $25.00/pack ($5 shipping)
Total Value: $30.01

I think Hammock Pack hit it right on the head with this one. As a full-time Lake House inhabitant, I am going to use everything in here for a day in the sun. I’m seriously going to plan a day just to enjoy all these treats at once. It made me really excited for the summer and made me realize I haven’t been taking advantage of the beach that is literally blocks from my house.

As far as value goes, you get what you pay for. For $25.00, you get a collection of products that adds up to an equal value or more. I’d be curious to see if every Hammock Pack is this good and I’m so glad I got to try it! This is definitely going on my list of great gift ideas! Because Hammock Pack doesn’t require an automatic subscription. You can actually buy a single pack and send it off to someone. I think it’s such a cute gift idea!

Have you tried Hammock Pack? What did you think of this month’s Lake House theme?

Disclosure: This product was received in exchange for a review. However, all views in this post
are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a
review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post
may contain affiliate/referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Hammock Pack: June 2013 Review

  1. Celine says:

    I love this month’s Hammock Pack! I received the box yesterday and already finished reading the book!! That’s how good the book was! I can’t wait to use the cleansing wipe tonight!

Leave a Reply

