Plated: July 2013 Review (Part 2)

 

Plated Burger Ingredients

Hello! And, welcome to Part 2 of my July Plated review! If you missed my review of the Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken with Homemade Tortilla Chips and Pico de Gallo, be sure to check it out here.

Plated is a gourmet food delivery service that brings all the ingredients you need to make exceptional dishes in the comfort of your home. Memberships are available for $10 a month and plates cost up to $15.00 per person. Interested in getting a meal for two free? Leave a message below or email me at justlouiseplease@gmail.com, and I’ll hook you up!

Plated Burger FinishFirst up today… Red White and Bleu Burgers with Baked Parsley Potato Chips. I had some help with this one! My dear hubby fired up the grill while I worked on the caramelized onions and potato chips. I love red onion! And, I can’t believe I never thought about making them like this! All you have to do is add some balsamic vinegar and sugar and cook the hell out of them. YUM! Combine that with the bleu cheese, and I was hooked! I didn’t put any other condiments on them, because the burgers had enough flavor on their own.

I had some trouble with the potato chips. I wish they told you how to get them off the pan… luckily, my hubby had some experience with this and told we how to use the spatula to get them off. They were super tasty!

You only see one plate in the photo because the hubby couldn’t wait for me to take a picture to start eating his! Also… he passed on the bleu cheese and the onions, so his just kind of  became a burger!

Plated Chicken IngredientsPlated’s recipe for Spicy Skillet Fried Chicken with Cabbage-Fennel Slaw and Corn on the Cob kind of changed my world and it’s all because of one thing: buttermilk. Why have I not used buttermilk to make fried chicken every day of my life?! More on that in a minute…

While cooking, I kind of had a lemon problem. The cole slaw tasted too lemony. My hubby suggested adding more mayo, and I told him to go for it and add it. Little did I know… we only had Miracle Whip. And once it was added, there was no going back. And, let me tell you. That tangy zip was not a good combination with the cole slaw… so, we ended up tossing it out. Luckily, I had some mashed potatoes I could whip up to go with it instead.

Plated Chicken FinishNow, on to that buttermilk! It created the most crispy, delicious fried chicken skin I could have ever imagined! When the hubby heard fried chicken was on the menu, he suggested we use the deep frier. Now, I’ve never used the deep frier, so I turned it over to him. After we plated it up, and dug in… we realized the chicken wasn’t done. Bah! But, the skin was so good! We put it under the broiler in hopes of keeping it crispy and also cooking it through, unfortunately… I got so distracted by the deliciousness of the corn, I forgot about the chicken and burnt it! AH! I’m going to have to make this again, because I know it would have been amazing. The corn on the cob was so good because of the basil butter. Seriously delicious, and I never would have thought to make that before.

As always, Plated did an incredible job providing me with pre-measured, fresh ingredients. Timing of the meal was simple and it got us to try out new flavors and cooking techniques we hadn’t used before.

Have you tried Plated yet? What do you think? Ready to give it a go for yourself? Leave me a message below or email me at justlouiseplease@gmail.com and I’ll hook you up with a FREE dinner for two!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

