Birchbox: July 2013 Reivew

Birchbox July 2013This month’s theme was “Power Play,” with the idea being that Birchbox wants to help you take control of every situation and make the most of every minute.

Looking at this month’s samples, I’m struggling to see the connection, but you gotta at least give Birchbox an A for effort on that one. I mean it can’t be easy figuring out these themes every month and connecting them to beauty products.

Birchbox is a monthly cosmetic subscription service that brings beauty samples to your doorstep for $10.00/month. Want to read about past boxes? Feel free to check out my previous posts in the review section.

So, what did we find inside this beautiful July box?

  • Juliette Has a Gun | Juliette Has a GunNot a Perfume 
  • Birchbox | Bobby Pins
  • theBalm® cosmetics | InStain® Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush
  • Vivant® Skin Care | Green Tea Antioxidant Cleanser
  • ModelCo | Party Proof Lipstick

Not a PerfumeJuliette Has a Gun | Juliette Has a Gun Not a Perfume 
Approximate Sample Value: $2.40
Full Size Cost: $120.00 (100 ml)
Buy at Birchbox

Let’s start things off with the perfume, because you know how I’m a sucker for perfume samples!

Not a Perfume features an elegant and unmistakable scent that Birchbox says is totally addictive. I’m not so sure about the addictive part, because I can’t figure out if I like this scent or not. In some ways it’s almost too strong for me. And, I have a terrible time putting it on. For whatever reason, these little perfume bottles are just so hard for me to navigate!

Birchbox Bobby PinsBirchbox | Bobby Pins
Sample Value: $1.66
Full Size Cost: $5.00 (set of 6)
Buy at Birchbox

Of all the items, I feel like these little bobby pins probably connect to the whole “keep things under control” theme the most. They’re definitely cute, and I love the design, but I don’t typically wear bobby pins like these. I tried pairing them with a navy blue dress I was wearing and chickened out. I don’t know if it’s just not my style or what. I used them as regular old bobby pins and I found them difficult to use. What is with me this month? I guess I’m struggling in using the samples!

InstaintheBalm® cosmetics | InStain® Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush
Sample Value: $4.44 (0.018 oz)
Full Size Cost: $22.00 (0.09 oz)
Buy at Birchbox

Now this little guy impressed me! Birchbox says the pigment lasts from sunup to sundown, and while I didn’t notice any long-lasting qualities, I couldn’t believe the vibrance of the color! This sample is small, so I didn’t expect it to make a big impact. But, my brush just soaks up the color and it goes on bright. So, I was very impressed with this little sample!

Vibrant Skin CareVivant® Skin Care | Green Tea Antioxidant Cleanser
Sample Value: $0.56
Full Size Cost: $29.50 (8 oz)
Buy at Birchbox

This is perhaps my favorite sample in this month’s box. Probably because I’m a sucker for a good old fashion face wash. Birchbox says it can also be used as a body cleanser, and while I haven’t used it for that yet, I imagine it’s pretty awesome on that front as well. It is packed with antioxidant-rich green tea and grape seed extract and leaves my skin feeling super clean! It also really does smell like green tea!

Model Co LipstickModelCo | Party Proof Lipstick Trio 
Sample Value: $8.00
Full Size Cost: $24.00

Buy at Birchbox

Now, I know some folks who weren’t happy with this palest of pale lipstick hues, but I really didn’t mind “Get Naked.” I find the trick is not putting it on too thick. When I just use one coat, it adds just a little bit of shimmer. If I put on anything more than that, it looks like I’m wearing a pretty sad lipstick. Birchbox says this lipstick doesn’t come off when you take a drink or give a smooch, and let me just say… that’s a bit of an over statement. It definitely came off on my coffee cup this morning when I put it to the test.

The Verdict
Total Cost: $10.00/month
Total Value: $17.06

Birchbox always does a really great job of giving you an exceptional value. For $10.00/month, it always seems worth it to me to keep this subscription. Especially when you’re a makeup feen like myself.

As far as the products this month, there wasn’t anything I really fell in love with. I don’t know if it’s because I’m getting jaded in my box ways or what. But, there just wasn’t anything that really set the box over the top for me. My favorite item is probably the Vivant® Skin Care | Green Tea Antioxidant Cleanser. If I had gotten a different color of the ModelCo | Party Proof Lipstick Trio, it definitely could have taken the lead.

My least favorite item was probably the Birchbox | Bobby Pins, mainly because they aren’t the kind I normally use. If I was thinking, I should have not opened these and instead gifted them to someone. Woops!

What did you guys think of Birchbox this week? What  all did you get? Would love to hear your thoughts! Want to try it for yourself, check them out here!

Disclosure: This product was not received in exchange for a review. All views in this review are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Birchbox: July 2013 Reivew

  1. Danielle says:

    I’m going to have to say that I wasn’t thrilled with this month’s box. I love lipsticks but the shade of ModelCo party proof I received looked like death on my lips.
    Other than the bobby pins, which I will never use, I can’t even remember what else was in my box without going back to the site to look. That’s how “meh” I thought everything was. Oh well, there’s always next month.

  2. Must Have Boxes says:

    That lipstick shade is gorgeous! I just posted the review of my July Birchbox on my blog too. I loved theBalm blush.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

