Julep: September 2013 Boho Glam Review

Julep | August 2013 Boho Glam

It’s been awhile since I’ve opted for a Julep Boho Glam Box. This time around, I just decided to let it play out and see what I was surprised with this time around. Julep works like this… For $19.99/month, they’ll send you at least $40.00 worth of  Julep nail polish and other related products. Unlike some services, you can actually preview your box, switch to a different style profile if you don’t like it, send your box to a friend or skip the month entirely. Obviously, I’ve been skipping for a while.

In addition to the flexibility of the subscription, there are a couple other things I like about Julep. For one thing, all their nail polish is “4-free,” meaning it doesn’t contain any formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene or DBP. I also like how if you’re a subscriber, you get discounts on all their products and access to Maven exclusives.

Since I went into this month blind, I got to be surprised by everything I found inside:

  • Julep Nail Polish | Tatiana
  • Julep Nail Polish | Kristy
  • Julep | Bare Face Cleansing Oil
  • Julep | One-Step Polish Remover Pad 

Julep Nail Polish | Tatiana

Julep Nail Polish | Tatiana
Full Size Regular Price: $14.00
Buy at Juelp.com

Okay, so this golden burnt orange microglitter is not quite my style, but I’m giving it a go any way on my index finger. It’s not really something I’d wear on all my fingers on a normal basis, but it’s certainly something I’d rock as an accent color or even on my toes. 
Julep Nail Polish | Kristy
Julep Nail Polish | Kristy
Full Size Regular Price: $14.00
Buy at Juelp.com
While I like this midnight blue crème, it’s very similar to Millie which I got in my May 2013 Boho Glam Starter Box. Now, had I previewed these ahead of time like I normally do, I would have known that and been able to switch it up. But, I guess that’s the fun in taking the luck of the draw I suppose. Either way, I definitely enjoy the color enough to immediately take off what I was wearing and put this on instead!

Julep | Bare Face Cleansing Oil

Julep | Bare Face Cleansing Oil
Full Size Regular Price: $28.00
Buy at Juelp.com

Now this had me intrigued! A cleansing oil? I got to say, I’ve never heard of such a thing. It sounds so counter productive to me… Either way, I gave it a go tonight and I was surprised that it removed my makeup and left my skin very smooth. Only time will tell whether or not this thing causes me to break out. It didn’t leave any oily residue and had a really great smell (kind of citrusy-y), so I think it’s something I’ll continue to use and try out.

So, what does Juelp have to say about it? They have a bunch of benefits listed on their website.

Enriched with Julep’s proprietary Power Cell Complex™, a trio of skin-boosting superstars:

  • Rosehip seed oil – a nourishing oil (and natural source of vitamins A and C) that helps to reduce the appearance of wrinkles and post-acne marks. Contains natural fatty acids that bond moisture to skin
  • Malvaceae Lipid Extract™ – a lipid complex that provides immediate and long-lasting hydration and works to rebuild skin structure from the inside out
  • Green coffee bean oil – a natural anti-inflammatory that promotes cell turnover post-cleansing dehydration

Formula includes grapeseed oil, a natural antioxidant that protects skin from harmful free radicals, and olive oil, a natural source of vitamin E that softens and helps prevent 

Julep | One-Step Polish Remover Pad

Julep | One-Step Polish Remover Pad
Sample Size Value: $0.99
Full Size Purchase Price: $9.99
Purchase at Julep

I’m always happy Julep includes these in their boxes. Because, seriously. The first thing I do when I get one of these boxes is take off whatever nail polish I’m wearing and put whatever they’ve sent me on. I mean really, it’s the most natural thing to do.

Since being introduced to polish remover pads, I’ve tried some from the local drug store. And, I’ve gotta say, Julep’s are the best. There’s are the only ones I can use to remove polish from all ten fingers with just one pad!

Julep Verdict
Value: $56.99
Cost: $19.99/month

I always love what Julep has going on, and if you’re a fan of nail polish, this is probably the best subscription box out there for you. This subscription is super flexible for those who don’t live for nail polish too. I think it’s great I can pick and choose when I want to get a box, gift it or change my style profile.

This month I was less excited about the nail polish. I don’t think I’ll go for a surprise box again, just so I can make sure I’m getting a variety in color selections. What I was really into was the oil cleanser. I can still smell that awesome citrus scent! It’s something I’m definitely going to continue using!

Have you tried Julep yet? Are you ready to become a Maven? Check out their site to find out how! 

Disclosure: This product was not received in exchange for a review. All views in this review are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Julep: September 2013 Boho Glam Review

  1. […] Julep: August 2013 Boho Glam Review (justlouisepleaseblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

