September 2013: Birchbox Review

photo-2Happy anniversary Birchbox! The September 2013 box marks this beauty product subscription service’s third year of providing awesome beauty samples, and this month’s products are appropriately themed around Heritage.

For $10 a month, beauty and lifestyle samples will come to your doorstep hand-selected by the Birchbox team. Each box also contains a great information card with details on the products inside, including how much they cost to purchase.

My September 2013 Birchbox included:

  • Ruffian | Nail Lacquer (Delirium)
  • Serge Normant | Meta Luxe Hair Spray
  • Grand Central Beauty S.M.A.R.T. | Skin Perfecting™ Polisher
  • BCBGMAXAZRIA | Bon Genre
  • Eyeko | Black Magic Mascara

photo-4Ruffian | Nail Lacquer (Delirium)
Full Size Sample Value: $10.00 (0.17 fl oz)
Buy at Birchbox

This nail polish was a little bright for my taste, but I’ll keep it around for a summer toe color. I immediately put it on my fingers, and when I went into a meeting the next morning at work, I couldn’t stop looking at my nails. The color was pretty distracting! But, the quality seems decent enough.

It started peeling/flaking a couple of days later, which is kind of surprising since Birchbox says it’s formulated to hold up without doing that… But, it also says you’re supposed to use a base coat and topcoat, neither of which I did.

photo-5Serge Normant | Meta Luxe Hair Spray
Sample Size Value: $0.66 (2.0 oz)
Full Size Cost: $25.00
(75.0 oz)
Buy at Birchbox

I was really not pleased with this hairspray. For one thing, when I opened up the sample, the cap was broken. I had to kind of jimmy-rig it in order to get it to work. Secondly, it smelled like nail polisher remover. Seriously, the smell of this hair spray is offensive.

Birchbox says this hair spray is supposed to work great in humidity, but I definitely didn’t experience that. I didn’t think it left my hair smooth or shiny. Instead, I actually had to use a frizz control serum to get the look I needed. It does keep hair in place, but the smell alone makes it not worth it. 

photo (9)Grand Central Beauty S.M.A.R.T. | Skin Perfecting™ Polisher
Sample Size Value: $7.49 (.2 fl oz)
Full Size Cost: $38.00 (30 ml)
Buy at Birchbox

I’ll be honest, I haven’t used this one yet. Mainly because I’m unclear on how I’m supposed to use it. It says it’s rinse-optional, which freaks me out a bit. Do I rinse it off or do I leave it on? What are the benefits of doing it one way or the other?

Anyway, once I figure out how I want to use this thing, it’s supposed to exfoliate, peel, tone and hydrate skin. These all sound like good things. I just need to take the plunge and try it out.

photo (8)BCBGMAXAZRIA | Bon Genre Perfume
Sample Size Value: $0.69 (0.03 oz)
Full Size Cost: $75.00 (3.4 oz)
Buy at Birchbox

I’m always for a good perfume, and this one came in one of my favorite perfume sample bottles. I much prefer the ones you can spray, versus the ones you have to dab on.

The scent is nice and helped me battle the remnants of that bad-smelling hair spray. It’s super feminine without being overly complicated. There’s hints of lychee, red berries, tiger lily and jasmine noir. I personally can’t identify any of those scents, but it doesn’t matter to me… I like it!

photo (7)Eyeko | Black Magic Mascara
Sample Size Value: $10.76 (0.13 oz)
Full Size Cost: $24.00(0.29 oz)
Buy at Birchbox

I’ve gotten a lot of mascara samples lately! Not that I mind, I definitely like trying them all out. My favorite part of this mascara was the curved brush. It made it easy to apply and get a nice full look. Birchbox says it’s “sickle-shaped,” which I got to say, I’ve never heard of a mascara wand being described quite that way before. The formula is waterproof and definitely stands up for 12 hours.

The Verdict
Cost: $15.00
Total Value: $29.60

My favorite item this month was definitely the BCBGMAXAZRIA | Bon Genre Perfume. Sometimes I wonder if I’m getting tired of receiving perfume samples in my Birchbox, but then one like this comes along and it all seems worth it! And, I’m never short of perfume, which is nice! My least favorite item has to be Serge Normant | Meta Luxe Hair SprayI mean, the smell is seriously out of control! Kind of funny my favorite and least favorite items both have to deal with smell… ah well!

Have you tried Birchbox yet? What was your favorite item. Comment below!

Disclosure: This product was not received in exchange for a review. All views in this post are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

