Julep: October 2013 Bombshell Review

Julep | October 2013It’s time to get a little spooky with Julep! As you can imagine, all of this month’s boxes were centered around the season, and while I’m normally a Boho Glam girl, this month I switched things up a bit and went with the Bombshell package. I also cashed in on my Julep Jules (points you get for referring friends/purchasing product) and got my October box for free!

Using your personal style profile, Julep hand-picks trendsetting new nail colors, cult faves and cutting-edge beauty products and mails them to your doorstep every month. Introductory boxes are mailed immediately (no waiting on this one), with following boxes mailed out at the end of each month. Before you receive your box, you’ll receive an email with details on what to expect. If you don’t like what’s in your box, you can change your style profile, send your box as a gift or skip the month completely.

This month I received:

  • Julep Nail Polish | Valerie
  • Julep Nail Polish | Cleopatra
  • Julep | Kajal Eye Glider & Sharpener

Julep Nail Polish | ValerieJulep Nail Polish | Valerie
Full Size Value: $14.00
Buy at Julep.com

This is a teal iridescent microglitter nail polish, and appears much brighter in person compared to the photo. Of the two polishes, this was probably my second favorite color. But, here’s the bummer. I for the life of me cannot find this thing! I opened it, took pictures of it, and now I can’t find it! I really want to wear it, but my house has somehow swallowed it. Major bummer, I know!

Julep Nail Polish | CleopatraJulep Nail Polish | Cleopatra
Full Size Value: $14.00
Buy at Julep.com

Now, I am all about this black latex crème color. I’ve been wearing it pretty much non-stop since I opened the box. The best way I can describe its finished texture is that it’s similar to a garbage bag. And, for the Halloween season, it looks super cool. It also goes on really smooth, and dries faster than most Julep nail polishes. Both qualities I enjoy immensely.

Julep | Kajal Eye Glider & SharpenerJulep | Kajal Eye Glider & Sharpener
Full Size Value: $22.00
Buy at Julep.com

I haven’t tried many of Julep’s other cosmetic products, so I was anxious to try out this bold eyeliner. Again, perfect for the Halloween season, the black end of this pencil goes on super smooth for a great smoky eye. It’s definitely great for both outlining and for waterlines. While the brown is more subtle, it’s still totally worth it. I always get nervous with eyeliner pencils, because sometimes they can be kind of rough. But, I find this pencil to be as gentle as their retractable counterparts.

The Verdict
Cost: $19.99/month
Value: $40.00

As always, Julep sent me some high-quality products at a fraction of the price. I’d never be able to go into Ulta and buy a $22.00 eyeliner. But, with Julep, I get to enjoy some of the best formulas with some exciting nail polish colors.

Julep is one of those subscriptions I don’t get every month and opt out often. But, when the right combination of products comes along, I am always happy I opted in.

What did you think of the October box? Which one did you get and what was your favorite product? Would love to hear what you have to say below!

Disclosure: This product was not received in exchange for a review. All views in this review are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Julep: October 2013 Bombshell Review

  1. Karen says:

    Pretty shades! And so perfect for the season. Great box!

    Karen
    Unpack the Box

  2. […] Julep: October 2013 Bombshell Review (justlouisepleaseblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

