Birchbox: October 2013 Review

Birchbox | October 2013I was immediately impressed with the weight of this month’s Birchbox. I picked it up and immediately thought, “Hello!” I couldn’t wait to dive inside to see what I’d find.

Birchbox is a monthly cosmetic and hair care subscription box that sends you a variety of sample size products for $10.00/month. All of the products are also available for purchase from Birchbox’s website. This is one of my staple boxes that I’m absolutely addicted to and love getting every month.

So, what did I find in this month’s box?

  • DDF® | Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer Moisturizing Serum
  • Atelier Cologne | Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolue – 200ml
  • theBalm® cosmetics | Stainiac
  • SARAHPOTEMPA | The HALF-UP™
  • ChapStick® | Hydration Lock

DDF® | Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer Moisturizing SerumDDF® | Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer Moisturizing Serum
Sample Value: $25.00 (0.5 fl oz)
Full Size Cost: $85.00 (1.7 fl oz)
Buy at Birchbox

Now, I may only be 27, but I am all about ANYTHING that is anti-aging. My theory has always been, it’s never to early to start! So, I was excited to try out this Wrinkle Resist Serum. Now, whether or not it works, is kind of hard for me to determine. But, it goes on smoothly, is gentle on my skin and is something I could totally see myself using every day.

Birchbox tells me this thing uses dual-phase technology, what that is… I have no clue. But, apparently, it’s supposed to work like a top-notch primer, while hydrating skin, shrinking pores and masking flaws. These are all good things in my book. The product certainly seems to be worth the $85.00 price tag, but unfortunately, I just don’t have that kind of skin care budget! Either way, I’m likely to use this thing to the max and enjoy it while I got it!

Atelier Cologne | Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolue - 200mlAtelier Cologne | Orange Sanguine Cologne Absolue
Sample Value: $1.16 (1.5 ml)
Full Size Cost: $155 (200 ml)
Buy at Birchbox

This is probably one of my more loved perfume samples lately. It’s the one I reach for first, and I’m really enjoying its sweet citrus scent! It’s fresh, highly concentrated (so it sticks around for hours) and offers a burst of sweet blood orange, combined with jasmine and rich sandalwood.  Really, I only smell the orange, but that’s good enough for me!

theBalm® cosmetics | StainiactheBalm® cosmetics | Stainiac
Sample Value: $2.26 (0.04 fl oz)
Full Size Cost: $17.00 (0.3 fl oz)
Buy at Birchbox

I’m not a huge fan of lip stains, but I thought I’d give this one a go. It builds as you put it on, so if you just want a light rosy color, one swipe does the trick. As you put more and more layers on, the color becomes a rich red. I didn’t try this as a cheek stain, mainly because I’m a little intimidated by the thought of putting a stain on my cheek. However, my Grandma’s #1 beauty tip involves using lipstick as a blush, so there has to be some merit to it.

SARAHPOTEMPA | The HALF-UP™SARAHPOTEMPA | The HALF-UP™
Full Size Value: $9.00
Buy at Birchbox

I was super excited when I saw this full size product in this month’s box. I’m always looking for a quick and easy way to throw my hair in a bun, without the hassle of bobby pins. But, I have to say, I was pretty disappointed with this product. I couldn’t get it to sit or stick right. I’ve basically resorted from using this as it was intended, and instead use it as a glorified hair tie when washing my face. It’s a sad, sad day for The Half Up™ in my world.

ChapStick® | Hydration LockChapStick® | Hydration Lock
Full Size Value: $2.99
Buy at Birchbox

Everyone needs ChapStick! And, this is certianly a winner, especially in the fall and winter months! This thing packs a ton of hydration and lasts up to eight hours. My hubby was pretty jealous of this product, which doesn’t happen too often with my Birchboxes, so I got some sweet satisfaction out of that! Birchbox tells me Hydration Lock also features antioxidant CoQ10 and healing vitamin E, two mainstays of healthy skin and soft, silky pouts.

Right now this thing is sold out on Birchbox. But, I’d imagine you can also find it at your favorite drug store or in the check-out aisle.

The Verdict
Cost: $10.00/month
Value: $40.01

This month’s Birchbox had one of the best values to date thanks to the DDF® | Wrinkle Resist Plus Pore Minimizer Moisturizing Serum, and I am perfectly fine with that! Other than the SARAHPOTEMPA | The HALF-UP™, this month’s box was a total winner! Opening it up, there were a ton of products to enjoy and I was super pleased with the variety! 

What did you get in your Birchbox this month? What was your stand-out product? Would love to hear your comments below!

Disclosure: This product was not received in exchange for a review. All views in this review are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Birchbox: October 2013 Review

  1. Julie (skinnyjeansandchaneldreams) says:

    I almost bought the Half Up once when I was going through a sock bun phase. Glad to know that it wasn’t quite all it was cracked up to be. =)

  2. Rachel says:

    Love your review! I just posted mine and its so interesting to see the different options in each month’s subscription!
    http://rachramblings.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/october-birchbox/

  3. Karen says:

    I’m so glad the DDF worked for you! I was super psyched to try it because it gets rave reviews, but then it felt leathery and left a powdery finish. Urk. I do use the Stainiac on my cheeks – and I love it. Just a kiss of red. Looks like everyone got great boxes this month!

    Karen
    Unpack the Box

  4. Amanda Hevener says:

    I’m jealous! I keep hoping to get something from DDF in one of my Birchboxes. Hopefully one of these months I’ll get lucky.

  5. […] Birchbox: October 2013 Review (justlouisepleaseblog.wordpress.com) […]

  6. roqberry says:

    Great review and I’m very jealous of your box!

  7. Must Have Boxes says:

    Your October Birchbox is amazing! I’m a little jealous.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  8. […] Birchbox: October 2013 Review (justlouisepleaseblog.wordpress.com) […]

  9. Johng767 says:

    Hello to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your views are fastidious in support of new viewers. eeeeeebkggae

Leave a Reply

