Birchbox: December 2013

Birchbox | December 2013So, I hate to say it, but this is likely my last review of Birchbox. Need to move on to another genre of boxes for a while. I’m going to stick with my Ipsy glam bag, because a girl has to have a monthly makeup fix, but I think it’s time we try something new! What do you think?

I was really excited when I saw the beautiful gold box in the mail. It was perfect for the holiday season! In addition to a handy little cell phone screen cleaner, I found the following inside my December Birchbox:

  • Number 4 | Non-Aerosol Hairspray
  • Chuao Chocolatier | Chocolate Bars
  • Camille Beckman | Glycerine Hand Therapy™
  • Wild Honey Apothecary | Buttermilk Sandalwood Honey Mud
  • Jouer | Moisturizing Lip Gloss

Number 4 | Non-Aerosol HairsprayNumber 4 | Non-Aerosol Hairspray
Sample Value: $4.50 (30 ml)
Full Size Cost: $30.00 (200 ml)
Buy at Birchbox

The first thing I noticed about this hairspray is the smell. It’s got that strong, classic hair spray smell that brings be back to the 80s or our community theater’s dressing room before a show. It’s not my favorite, but for real holding strength, I’m willing to compromise. I was kind of surprised it had such a strong odor, because it is a non-aerosol mist that’s supposed to be good for the environment. It’s full of natural botanicals that nourish strands, and I think you can see that right away. When sprayed on, hair looks super shiny afterward. Just don’t spray too much or else you’ll be left in greasy town.

Chuao Chocolatier | Chocolate BarsChuao Chocolatier | Chocolate Bars
Sample Value: $0.84 (0.39 oz)
Full Size Cost: $6.00 (2.8 oz)
Buy at Birchbox

I’m not one to pass up chocolate, and with it being the holidays, seemed appropriate in this month’s box! The packaging said the chocolate was intended to taste like popcorn, and it sure did! To a point that I found it kind of odd, like something out of Willy Wonka’s factory. They have a bunch of flavors to choose from on Birchbox’s website, so maybe if popcorn isn’t your cup of tea, there’s something else you might enjoy more!

Camille Beckman | Glycerine Hand Therapy™Camille Beckman | Glycerine Hand Therapy™
Sample Value: $0.58 (0.25 oz)
Full Size Cost: $14.00 (6 oz)
Buy at Birchbox

This cream is super rich and with it being so cold outside was more than welcome! It feels super luxurious on and I can see why its Camille Bechman’s best-selling product! The sample size is great for tossing in your bag, or leaving at your desk for when you need some midday nourishment.

Wild Honey Apothecary | Buttermilk Sandalwood Honey MudWild Honey Apothecary | Buttermilk Sandalwood Honey Mud
Sample Value: $3.50 (0.35 oz)
Full Size Cost: $20.00 (2 oz)
Buy at Birchbox

I’m always up for a good mud mask! And this one keeps it simple with organic, locally sourced honey, aloe vera and grapeseed and argan oils.  The mask exfoliates, nourishes and brightens the skin.

Jouer | Moisturizing Lip GlossJouer | Moisturizing Lip Gloss
Sample Value: $9.41 (0.08 oz)
Full Size Cost: $20.00 (0.17 oz)
Buy at Birchbox

This is probably my favorite product in this month’s box. I may cash in on my Birchbox points and buy the full size, I am THAT in love. And, that’s saying a lot from a girl with a purse full of lip glosses. It just has a beautiful shimmery finish, and it turns dry lips into something beautiful in one swoop!

The Verdict
Cost: $10.00/month
Value: $18.83

Birchbox knows their stuff when it comes to putting together samples that are worth the $10.00/month subscription fee. I always appreciate their beautiful packaging and high-end selection, I just wish the sample sizes were bigger. What can I say, I wan MORE!

What did you guys think of December’s products? Would love to hear your thoughts!

Disclosure: This product was not received in exchange for a review. All views in this review are the opinion of the author. Just Louise Please will not accept payment in exchange for a review, but will accept a box at no cost to provide honest opinions on the box. This post may contain referral links. Complete Disclosure Policy.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Birchbox: December 2013

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    That lip gloss color is so pretty! If you’re saying goodbye to Birchbox there’s plenty of other boxes to subscribe to.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

